Search:

Crushing it! : how great entrepreneurs build their business and influence--and how you can, too /
By Vaynerchuk, Gary,
Includes bibliographical references.
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

Blood sisters : a novel /
By Corry, Jane,
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

House witness : a Joe DeMarco thriller /
By Lawson, Michael,
Investigating the murder of his employer's illegitimate son, political fixer Joe DeMarco begins to question the guilt of a chief suspect when he realizes that someone has been interfering with the case's witnesses.
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

Black ink : literary legends on the peril, power, and pleasure of reading and writing /
Includes bibliographical references (pages 237-240).
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

Great at work : how top performers do less, work better, and achieve more /
By Hansen, Morten T.,
Includes bibliographical references (pages 249-261) and index.The secrets to great performance -- Part I. Mastering your own work -- Do less, then obsess -- Redesign your work -- Don't just learn, loop -- P-squared (passion and purpose) -- Part II. Mastering working with others -- Forceful champions -- Fight and unite -- The two sins of collaboration -- Part III. Mastering your work-life -- Great at work...and at life, too -- Small changes, big results.
© 2018., Simon & Schuster,
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

House of secrets /
By Andrews, V. C.
A servant's daughter and a doctor's son who were raised in the same household develop a romantic relationship that is threatened by the doctor's new wife."Ever since Fern could remember, she and her mother have lived as servants in Wyndemere House, the old gothic mansion of the Davenport family. She may have been a servant, but Fern developed a sweet friendship with Dr. Davenport’s son, Ryder, and she was even allowed free range of the estate. But Dr. Davenport has remarried and his new wife has very different ideas about a servant’s place. Now Fern and her mother are subject to cruel punishments, harsh conditions, and aren’t even allowed to use the front door. Yet, for all her wrath, the cruel woman cannot break the mysterious bond between Ryder and Fern. And when Ryder invites Fern to join his friends at prom, there’s nothing Mrs. Davenport can do to stop them nor can she continue to guard the secret that haunts the women of Wyndemere—but there’s nothing she won’t try. After all, reputation is everything."--
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

Going for a beer : selected short fictions /
By Coover, Robert,
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

Daphne : a novel /
By Boast, Will,
Born with a rare condition that causes her to suffer degrees of paralysis when experiencing intense emotion, Daphne endures a virtually solitary existence before meeting a shy, charming man who compels her to chose between safe isolation and true intimacy.
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

The monk of Mokha /
By Eggers, Dave,
The true story of a young Yemeni-American man, raised in San Francisco, who dreams of resurrecting the ancient art of Yemeni coffee but finds himself trapped in Sana'a by civil war.
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

The winter station : a novel /
By Shields, Jody,
An aristocratic Russian doctor stationed in the railway outpost city of Kharbin in Manchuria races to contain a deadly plague before it spreads to the rest of the world.
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

The art of screen time : how your family can balance digital media and real life /
By Kamenetz, Anya,
Includes bibliographical references (pages 225-252) and index.Part I: Kids and screens -- Digital parenting in the real world -- The (sometimes) scary science of screens -- Emerging evidence -- You have the power: positive parenting with media -- An hour at a time: how real families navigate screens -- Screens at school -- Part II: Our own devices: parents and screens -- The mom with her phone at the playground -- Modern families: parents and screens -- The future of digital parenting -- TL;DR: the art of screen time in five minutes."Today's babies often make their debut on social media with the very first sonogram. They begin interacting with screens at around four months old. But is this good news or bad news? A wonderful opportunity to connect around the world? Or the first step in creating a generation of addled screen zombies? Many have been quick to declare this the dawn of a neurological and emotional crisis, but solid science on the subject is surprisingly hard to come by. In The Art of Screen Time, Anya Kamenetz--an expert on education and technology, as well as a mother of two young children--takes a refreshingly practical look at the subject. Surveying hundreds of fellow parents on their practices and ideas, and cutting through a thicket of inconclusive studies and overblown claims, she hones a simple message, a riff on Michael Pollan's well-known "food rules": Enjoy Screens. Not too much. Mostly with others. This brief but powerful dictum forms the backbone of a philosophy that will help parents moderate technology in their children's lives, curb their own anxiety, and create room for a happy, healthy family life with and without screens." -- Amazon.com.
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

When Montezuma met Cort©♭s : the true story of the meeting that changed history /
By Restall, Matthew,
Includes bibliographical references (pages 469-508) and index.
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

White chrysanthemum /
By Bracht, Mary Lynn,
". . . A sweeping historical debut for fans of Lilac Girls, Memoirs of a Geisha, and Kristin Hannah that brings to life the heartbreaking history of Korea through the deeply moving and redemptive story of two sisters separated by World War II"--
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

Killer choice /
By Hunt, Tom
"The electrifying debut thriller that asks the question: To save the one you love, is there any price you wouldn't pay? His wife is sick. He needs $200,000 to save her. A mysterious man offers to give him the money with just one catch: He has to murder someone to get it. Gary Foster's life is finally heading in the right direction. After years of trying, his wife, Beth, is pregnant, and he recently opened a business with his brother. But one phone call changes everything ... After collapsing suddenly, Beth has been rushed to the hospital. Tests reveal a devastating diagnosis: an inoperable brain tumor. Their only hope is an expensive experimental treatment available abroad, with a cost that's out of their reach. And Beth's time is running out ... Then a strange man approaches Gary and offers the money he needs, on one condition: that he kill someone, no questions asked. End one life to save another. In this nail-biting debut novel of domestic suspense, one man makes a choice that forces him to confront the darkest reaches of his soul and betray those closest to him. As he's swept up in a nightmare of escalating violence, he must question his own morality--and determine just how far he's willing to go to save the woman he loves"--
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

Perish : a Gardiner and Renner thriller /
By Black, Lisa,
The scene of the crime is lavish but gruesome. In a luxurious mansion on the outskirts of Cleveland, a woman's body lies gutted in a pool of blood on the marble floor. The victim is Joanna Moorehouse, founder of Sterling Financial. The killer could be any one of her associates. The scene of the crime is lavish but gruesome. In a luxurious mansion on the outskirts of Cleveland, a woman's body lies gutted in a pool of blood on the marble floor. The victim is Joanna Moorehouse, founder of Sterling Financial. The killer could be any one of her associates.Only Maggie recognizes the blood-soaked handiwork of a killer who has committed the most heinous of crimes--and will continue killing until he is stopped. Burdened with unbearable secrets, Maggie must make an agonizing choice, while her conscience keeps telling her: she's next.
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

Lies that comfort and betray /
By Simpson, Rosemary,
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

Death by chocolate cherry cheesecake /
By Graves, Sarah,
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

The healing self : a revolutionary new plan to supercharge your immunity and stay well for life /
By Chopra, Deepak,
"Combining the best current medical knowledge with a new approach grounded in integrative medicine, Chopra and Tanzi offer a groundbreaking new model of healing and the healing system, one of the main mysteries in the mind-body connection"--
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

Modern loss : candid conversation about grief : beginners welcome /
By Soffer, Rebecca,
Includes bibliographical references."Inspired by the website that the New York Times hailed as "redefining mourning," this book is a fresh and irreverent examination into navigating grief and resilience in the age of social media, offering comfort and community for coping with the mess of loss through candid original essays from a variety of voices, accompanied by gorgeous two-color illustrations and wry infographics." -- From Amazon.com summary.
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1

Automating inequality : how high-tech tools profile, police and punish the poor /
By Eubanks, Virginia,
Includes bibliographical references (p. 225-248) and index.Introduction: red flags -- From poorhouse to database -- Automating welfare in the heartland -- High-tech homelessness in the city of angels -- The Allegheny algorithm -- The digital poorhouse -- Conclusion: dismantling the digital poorhouse -- Acknowledgments -- Sources and methods -- Endnotes -- Index.
Available copies: 0 (Not Available - Ask At Desk) / Total copies: 1