Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The house uptown  Cover Image Book Book

The house uptown

Ginsburg, Melissa (author.).

Summary

Summary: "For fans of Megan Abbott and Laura Lippman, Melissa Ginsburg's The House Uptown is an emotional coming-of-age novel about a young girl who goes to live with her eccentric grandmother in New Orleans after the death of her mother. Ava, 14 years old and totally on her own, has still not fully processed her mother's death when she finds herself on a train heading to New Orleans, going to stay with Lane, her grandmother whom she's never met. Lane is a well-known artist in the New Orleans art scene. She spends most of her days in a pot-smoke haze, sipping iced coffee, and working on the mural that has been her singular focus for years. Her grip on reality is shaky at best, but her work provides a comfort. Ava's arrival unsettles Lane. The girl bears an uncanny resemblance to her daughter, whom she was estranged from before her death. Now her presence is dredging up painful and disturbing memories, which forces Lane to retreat even further into her own mind. Ava, meanwhile, is entranced and frightened by her grandmother. She wants to be included in her eccentric life, but can't quite navigate Lane's tempestuous moods. Attempting to keep the peace is Oliver, Lane's assistant and confidant. As this unlikely trio attempts to find their way and form a bond, the oppressive heat and history of New Orleans bears down on them, forcing them to a reckoning none of them is ready for"--

Item details

  • ISBN: 1250784182
  • ISBN: 9781250784186
  • Physical Description: 244 pages ; 22 cm
    print
  • Edition: First Edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Flatiron Books, 2021.
Subject: Teenage girls Fiction
Parents Death Fiction
Grandmothers Fiction
Artists Fiction
New Orleans (La.) Fiction
Genre: Bildungsromans.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Mystery fiction.

Currently available copies

  • 9 / 13 copies available at PINES (Show)
  • 0 / 1 copies available at Flint River Regional Library System (Show)
  • 0 / 0 copies available at Peachtree City Library

Holds

  • 0 current holds
Library System: Library Branch Name
Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status  


Additional Resources