Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The opportunist : a novel  Cover Image Book Book

The opportunist : a novel

Summary: "A deliciously sly, compulsively readable tale about greed, power and the world's most devious family, for fans of The Nest and Succession. When Alana Shropshire's seventy-six-year-old father, Ed, starts dating Kelly, a saucy twenty-eight-year-old, a flurry of messages arrives from Alana's brothers, urging her to help "protect Dad" from the young interloper. Alana knows that what Teddy and Martin really want to protect is their father's fortune, and she tells them she couldn't care less about the May-December romance. Long estranged from her privileged family, Alana has no stake in the game, and as a hardworking single mom, she has more important things to worry about. But when Ed and Kelly's wedding is announced, Teddy and Martin kick into hyperdrive, and eventually persuade Alana to fly to their father's 900-acre West Coast island retreat to perform one tiny task in their plan to lure the "gold digger" away from their father. Kelly, however, proves a lot wilier than expected, and Alana becomes entangled in an increasingly dangerous scheme full of secrets and surprises. Will she be able to escape her brothers' elaborate web of deceit? Just how far will her siblings go to retain control? Smart, entertaining and brimming with shocking twists and turns, The Opportunist is both a thrill-ride of a story and a razor-sharp view of how women and men hold power in the world."--

Item details

  • ISBN: 9780778386957
  • ISBN: 0778386953
  • Physical Description: print
    280 pages ; 21 cm
  • Publisher: Toronto : Mira Books, ©2022.

Contents / Notes

Additional Physical Form available Note:
Issued also in electronic format.
Subject: May-December romances Fiction
Father and child Fiction
Single mothers Fiction
Fortune hunters Fiction
Avarice Fiction
Siblings Fiction
Genre: Fiction.

Currently available copies

  • 4 / 6 copies available at PINES (Show)
  • 0 / 0 copies available at Flint River Regional Library System
  • 0 / 0 copies available at Peachtree City Library

Holds

  • 0 current holds on 6 total copies.
Find the nearest copy:
Library System: Library Branch Name
Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status  


Additional Resources