Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The opportunist : a novel  Cover Image Book Book

The opportunist : a novel / Elyse Friedman.

Summary:

"A deliciously sly, compulsively readable tale about greed, power and the world's most devious family, for fans of The Nest and Succession. When Alana Shropshire's seventy-six-year-old father, Ed, starts dating Kelly, a saucy twenty-eight-year-old, a flurry of messages arrives from Alana's brothers, urging her to help "protect Dad" from the young interloper. Alana knows that what Teddy and Martin really want to protect is their father's fortune, and she tells them she couldn't care less about the May-December romance. Long estranged from her privileged family, Alana has no stake in the game, and as a hardworking single mom, she has more important things to worry about. But when Ed and Kelly's wedding is announced, Teddy and Martin kick into hyperdrive, and eventually persuade Alana to fly to their father's 900-acre West Coast island retreat to perform one tiny task in their plan to lure the "gold digger" away from their father. Kelly, however, proves a lot wilier than expected, and Alana becomes entangled in an increasingly dangerous scheme full of secrets and surprises. Will she be able to escape her brothers' elaborate web of deceit? Just how far will her siblings go to retain control? Smart, entertaining and brimming with shocking twists and turns, The Opportunist is both a thrill-ride of a story and a razor-sharp view of how women and men hold power in the world."-- Provided by publisher.

Item details

  • ISBN: 9780778386957
  • ISBN: 0778386953
  • Physical Description: 280 pages ; 21 cm
  • Publisher: Toronto : Mira Books, ©2022.

Contents / Notes

Additional Physical Form available Note:
Issued also in electronic format.
Subject: May-December romances > Fiction.
Father and child > Fiction.
Single mothers > Fiction.
Fortune hunters > Fiction.
Avarice > Fiction.
Siblings > Fiction.
Genre: Fiction.

Currently available copies

  • 4 / 6 copies available at PINES

Holds

  • 0 current holds on 6 total copies.
Find the nearest copy:
Library System: Library Branch Name
Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status  
Athens Regional Library System:
      Athens-Clarke County Library
FIC FRIEDMAN
Send SMS Text
31001005266888 NEW-BKS Checked out
Clayton County Library System:
      Morrow Branch
A FIC FRIEDMAN, ELYSE
Send SMS Text
31012007207416 STACKS Available
Coastal Plain Regional Library System:
      Fitzgerald-Ben Hill County Library
ACQ-VOL-629263
Send SMS Text
ACQ-COPY-629263 ON ORDER On order
Dougherty County Public Library:
      Northwest Branch
F FRIEDMAN ELYSE
Send SMS Text
31018905093170 FIC Available
Houston County Public Library:
      Nola Brantley Memorial Library / Warner Robins
F FRI
Send SMS Text
3102801609455 ADULT Available
Three Rivers Regional Library System:
      Camden County Library
FIC FRI
Send SMS Text
31006004050621 New Adult Book Available


Additional Resources